Tips on perfect presentations…


There can’t be many people who are not filled with dread at the prospect of having to get up in front of a roomful of people and give a presentation. For me it was one of the most daunting parts to becoming a photographer, knowing that I would have to get up in front of an audience and justify my work. Legs go to jelly, cold sweats, feeling like I want to be swallowed up, I think that everyone can identify with this to some extent.

Paul Smith gave us a great lecture today on how to get into the habit of giving a good presentation and I came away from today’s session feeling that I had  learnt something that will stay with me throughout my career.

A few Key points for that all important pitch :

  • Breathe!
  • Define Purpose – why /what you are talking about. Introduce yourself
  • Keep PowerPoint presentations concise and relevant – Use bullet points
  • Use a confident tone of voice and engage with the audience
  • Breathe!
  • Preparation is key, Spend time on research
  • And most importantly, take time to rehearse, and then rehearse some more

A short You Tube video for those of you who would like to know how to present like Steve Jobs …

Watch this space for future presentations given by me!

 

 

Leave a Reply

