Greater than the Whole


‘Produce cumulative portrait of a structure that cannot be readily portrayed in its entirety in one frame.’ –

When I was given this brief I have to say that I was a little confused as to just what I would produce in response to it. The obvious starting points were large structures, such as churches, bridges etc. These are clearly structures that cannot be captured in a single frame of a photograph.

So I set about trying to capture elements of Coventry Cathedral, the little details that tend to get lost when trying to capture an image of the Cathedral in its entirety.

I came up with this image as I was intrigued by the history of the building. I remember the stories, told to me by my Grandmother, about the night the Cathedral was destroyed. I wondered at what point this gate was erected and what was there before.. ?

Whilst taking time to look around the ruins, I noticed that the window panes still had small shards of stained glass in them. Incredible to think that there is ANY glass remaining after the devastation caused on the night of November 14th 1940. It almost seems to symbolize the spirit that the people of the City of Coventry must have had to carry on with daily life as the world appeared to fall around them.

This image is of the altar in the old cathedral. The cross is made from charred remains that were recovered from the ashes. I remember my Grandmother had a small replica that was handed out the people of Coventry in the aftermath of the bombing. A symbol that we must never forget.

I took this picture, as again I felt that it told a story. The bare Catherdral Walls without a roof. A stark reminder of the devestation that was caused to the building.


For Further reading about the history of Coventry Cathedral please click here.

 

One thought on “Greater than the Whole

  1. Pingback: Greater than the Whole – cont. « Emma Louise Hall

Leave a Reply

