#Picbod – The Self-Portrait – My response


So, following on from our introduction to the #Picbod module we have been set a brief to take a self-portrait informed by both our understanding of ourselves, and one informed by those close to me, their opinions and how it informs their understanding of me.

“Pre-visualize and produce a self portrait [using only available light*] unrestricted in theme and technique yet still supplying a message to the viewer. You should spend time first understanding what it is you wish to convey before then looking at the composition and mechanics of the image and finally production.”

“Speak with you close friends, family, partner. Ask them to describe you – your qualities,traits, personality. Use these results to create a self portrait that is informed not by your own representation, but how others see you. Again, you should spend time first understanding what it is that you are being asked to convey before then looking at the composition and mechanics of the image and finally production.

Is this a fair representation of you? How much did you try to ‘override’ their comments through the image making process? Is personality internal or external?”

During the week following the workshops and lectures, my life has become complicated. A crescendo of uncertainty and self doubt, everyday being an emotional roller coaster. Simply finding the time , or motivation, to carry out the tasks has become a struggle for me. This has led me to choose the following photographs :

me (1 of 2)

 

 

When taking the photograph above I chose to use natural light and positioned myself in front of the window. The brightness of the background contrasting the dark foreground. Yes , the sun is shining but my heart isn’t feeling it 😦

me (2 of 2)

 

The above image I feel portrays the way in which my family see me when I am up to my neck in work. A glance over the top of my laptop, distracted.

Leave a Reply

