Week 3- Nude & Naked response


This weeks task …..

Building on the session workshops you should explore notions of Nude and Naked through

your work. You should make at least one study of yourself and another of someone else.

You will need to bring your experiences from task one and two to bear as you explore the

dynamics of vulnerability vis a vis yourself, the subject and ultimately the viewer.

You should spend time observing the context for your subject. You should look for and

work with the different types of light, tone and colour, both in terms of your location context

and the effects they have on your subject and the subsequent photographic artefact.”

During the first year I undertook a study of myself and created a Photobook with the images that I produced. You can read more about it here https://emmalhall.wordpress.com/2013/02/28/assignment-1-151mc-mirror-mirror/ . So having already carried out a similar assignment I thought that this would be easy. However I have found it difficult. Like many women I have periods in which I am extremely unhappy with my body and appearance, At the moment I am going through one of these phases. I wanted my images to portray this.

I tried taking some images that showed my body in a more literal way. However, when I was looking back over them it made me feel incredibly self conscious and I could not bring myself to use them.

I have looked at the work of Bill Brandt in the past and the way in which his work portrays the female form in a more surreal way made me think about how I could approach this assignment in a way that didn’t make me feel so exposed.

I took several images using only the light that is emitted by my bedside lamps. I didn’t make a conscious decision to shoot the images in my bedroom but upon reflection I probably chose this room as it is where I feel safe and comforted. I feel at ease in the embrace the familiarity of my bedroom provides.

Although I shot with digital I used post production to add a little graininess to the images and convert them to black and white which I feel add to the overall aesthetic I wanted to achieve.  I am still unsure which of these images I feel works the best but I do feel that this is something I can refine and work on further to create an interesting set of images.

I feel that the following 3 images work well together is a triptych :

The photographs of another person were going to be of my sister, however she has been in hospital this past week so I have not been able to photograph her. This is one I took a few weeks ago :

sara (1 of 1)

Leave a Reply

